Author Topic: Tru-Oil longevity  (Read 8750 times)

Offline PeteC

Tru-Oil longevity
« on: May 11, 2008, 10:13:08 am »
I've been using Tru-Oil to finish my bows for the last 7 or 8 years,like many of you do.It makes for a great water-resistant finish,thats only weakness,as for as I see,is contact with insect repellant.A small bottle will afford enough 10 coat treatments to finish many bows.The last bottle I bought back in february,is still half full.I put a first coat on a new bow last evening.I went out this morning to apply a second coat,but it was still tacky.The RH for our area is no higher than normal,in fact I've applied it while it was raining outside without a problem.Have any of you ever experienced a "short shelf-life",with Tru-Oil? Appeciate any comments, Thanks, and God Bless
What you believe determines how you behave., Pete Clayton, Whitehouse ,Texas

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
Re: Tru-Oil longevity
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2008, 10:37:46 am »
I've experienced that same thing before, I guess it gets old after being opened awhile.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2008, 10:41:44 am »
I store all my finishes upside down once its been opened, I was taught this trick by a painter. Of course a bottle of tru-Oil
rarely lasts me more than a few months.
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline Gordon

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2008, 12:00:57 pm »
I do what Dana said and have never had a problem with shelf-life.
Gordon

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2008, 12:21:30 pm »