Author Topic: Crack from steam bending, help needed  (Read 2216 times)

Offline WingS

Crack from steam bending, help needed
« on: December 26, 2020, 09:04:02 pm »
Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I would love some advice on what to do with a crack which has resulted from unsuccessful steam bending!
I am a novice working on my first "real" bow - a tawa sapling stave. Tawa is a native wood here in New Zealand, it's a straight grained, medium density white wood, and I have heard it is similar to oak. The stave is a 60 inches long and I was hoping to turn into a 45+ pound bow for hunting   (SH) :-D
It is bending a few inches in each limb and is getting to the end of the floor tillering stage.
I gave steam bending a go in order to make the originally straight tip match the other naturally recurved tip. It was semi successful but over time it straightened back to about half the initial recurve it had immediately post steaming.
I went back for a second go with a more aggressive bend in the form, but a 5cm/2 inch diagonal/longitudinal crack split down the tip!
I filled it with PVA wood glue and have filed it back as far as I will dare (the tip is about 1cm (3/8 inch) at the thinnest) but the crack just keeps going!

As it stands the straighter tip has about 5cm/2 inches of recurve (from tip to belly of the handle), while the naturally recurved tip has about 8cm/3 inches or recurve.

The way I see it I have 4 options going forward:

1. Cut the stave shorter now and make a short bow/kids bow
2. Continue on floor tillering and hopefully finish the bow, even with the mismatched tips
3. Risk steam bending more recurve into the straighter tip again, perhaps after some filing (I have aluminum flashing now, and will make sure to sand the belly down and put it on a rolling not simmering boil for an hour this time)
4. Steam bend and straighten the naturally recurved tip to make it match the straighter tip and continue on with floor tillering.