Author Topic: .5 inch too thin for a board bow?  (Read 1695 times)

Offline billbagner

.5 inch too thin for a board bow?
« on: September 22, 2020, 10:35:07 am »
Hello,

I have been making bows for a few years, all on boards. Up until now, I've used 3/4 inch thick boards. However, I recently came across a board that was 2.5 inches wide, 48 inches long but only .5 inches thick. The grain on it is perfect. Is this too thin for a bow? Or could I get away with a really wide limb design and a very shallow taper?

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
Re: .5 inch too thin for a board bow?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2020, 10:36:56 am »
a bowyer i talk to made a amazing recurve out of a 1/2 inch board! snag it quick!!
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline billbagner

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2020, 10:48:29 am »
Thanks for the reply Deerhunter. I will give it a snag. I'm not comfortable enough yet to freestyle a design but I am looking through this thread http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php?topic=25626.0 and gleaning some idea. I was thinking about doing 2.5 inch wide limbs out of the fades to 1 inch wide nocks with a pyramid style taper.

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2020, 10:56:35 am »
What wood is it, what is your target draw length and weight? 0.5" thick is OK depending on the wood, but that 48" length is going to severely limit what you can get for draw length unless you splice on some levers to add length.

Mark

Offline billbagner

« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2020, 11:02:41 am »
What wood is it, what is your target draw length and weight? 0.5" thick is OK depending on the wood, but that 48" length is going to severely limit what you can get for draw length unless you splice on some levers to add length.

Mark