Author Topic: Twist  (Read 2190 times)

Offline jamesh76

Twist
« on: June 15, 2020, 03:28:29 am »
I have read posts for the last hour. I even have 4est trekkers post with the pine board in my shop. Lots of confusing terminology and info on this topic across multiple other posts. I am still confused and second guess myself every time. Based on this picture and view from this end of the tip. Which side is strong side and which side do you remove wood? Left or right side.   

Offline NicAzana

Re: Twist
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2020, 03:51:16 am »
As the string bisects the handle, i wouldn’t worry about that amount of twist, unless it gets worse when you draw it. But if you do try to correct that, you should remove wood from the side that is left on the photo. Full disclosure: I’m not that experienced.
time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana

Offline jamesh76

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2020, 03:54:39 am »
thanks for your reply, I understand its not that bad of a twist and would be ok with the alignment.  I just want clarification on which is strong/weak and which side to remove wood. Hopefully there are several responses. I just don't want to second guess myself anymore.

Offline BAfromPA

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2020, 04:31:55 am »
Strong side resists being bent towards the belly, weak side bends further. The left side is the strong side.

Offline jamesh76

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2020, 08:22:40 am »
I think right is strong side. Remove wood right side. More feedback needed please 67 views so far.

Offline DC

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2020, 08:29:41 am »
If you get the twist out of it then the string won't bisect the handle anymore. Then you will have to bend the limb sideways to recorrect it. Is it worth it?

PS I've never been able to get twist out by tillering. I heat them and bend them.

Offline gumboman

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2020, 11:43:10 am »