Author Topic: tree id please  (Read 798 times)

Offline paulc

tree id please
« on: May 19, 2020, 10:19:04 am »
I am guessing some kind of birch..? 

Thanks in advance!  Paul

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: tree id please
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2020, 10:45:58 am »
River birch(Betula nigra)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline paulc

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2020, 11:24:40 am »
Thanks!

Offline paulc

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2020, 01:44:38 pm »
If the grain behaves I ought to get 5 staves out of it....there does seem to be a bit of twist in the grain but since I am new to this side of things I really don't know what I am talking about.

Thanks city of Savannah for the free wood!

Paul

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2020, 02:07:37 pm »
I believe river birch is only marginal bow wood so design your bows accordingly.
 Savannah is my hometown.   :OK
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline paulc

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2020, 02:34:40 pm »
I figure I have 6 months to find a design that will work.

Wife and I are in the process of moving from Tybee into town...3 evacuations/2 floods in 4 yrs is too much for us out here on the island.  Work provides a house on slab as part of job-no longer worth it :-)  By end of month I will be commuting like so many other folks but it is a beautiful ride out onto the island.

Paul

Offline hoosierf

« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2020, 03:26:01 pm »
I made a river birch. 2” wide and 72” long with a straight limb profile to a 10” taper to the tips. Turned out good. Mine was arrow straight trunk wood using the ring right under the bark.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2020, 03:35:04 pm »