Author Topic: Ipe Questions  (Read 1634 times)

Offline mmattockx

Ipe Questions
« on: May 06, 2020, 09:41:51 am »
One of our local hardwood suppliers has some Ipe in stock. I have zero experience with the stuff and would like some tips on things to look for, what to watch out for (if anything) and how to work it. It would be used for the belly lams in multi-lam bows, most likely hickory backed with a maple core.

Thanks,
Mark

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Ipe Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2020, 10:28:28 am »
If you can see the grain you want it as straight as possible with no swirls in the grain.  With 3/4" stock you can build a great hickory backed ipe bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2020, 10:33:22 am »
If you can see the grain you want it as straight as possible with no swirls in the grain.  With 3/4" stock you can build a great hickory backed ipe bow.

So just the usual grain related things? There is nothing specific to Ipe to watch out for?

Is it particularly hard to work? How do people cut lams? I have been using a table saw for maple and oak, is that reasonable for Ipe?

Mark

Offline PatM

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2020, 10:59:48 am »
Watch for knots or pins.  Rare,  but Ipe doesn't handle them very well.

Offline willie

« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2020, 12:05:28 pm »
I have a carbide blade for cutting steel. you can get them in smaller diameters with the same arbor to fit most tablesaws. I have never used it for ipe but I did use it for antler the other day and ripped some white oak just now. cuts slow on account of no rake. but beats abusing an otherwise nice blade. Others could comment better about cutting ipe in particular.

I have heard some extremely bad accounts about breathing ipe dust.

Offline mmattockx

« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2020, 12:49:11 pm »
I have heard some extremely bad accounts about breathing ipe dust.