Author Topic: Wood id???  (Read 1752 times)

Offline Jakesnyder

Wood id???
« on: February 21, 2019, 09:45:02 am »
I am still new at harvesting my own bow wood. Can someone tell me what wood type I got here?

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Wood id???
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2019, 09:58:54 am »
I'm g ping to guess,,hickory,..but I'm not that good at id

Offline bassman

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2019, 10:37:02 am »
That is walnut. Makes a good bow.Build it wide ,and long at first. It heat treats well. It is low mass wood that draws smooth, and makes a good bow.

Offline Dances with squirrels

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2019, 10:38:40 am »
That's pretty small in diameter isn't it? Young hickory trees usually have smooth bark. Not sure what that is. Any more pics? End cut? Branches? Tree shape?
Straight wood may make a better bow, but crooked wood makes a better bowyer

Offline Dances with squirrels

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2019, 10:40:11 am »
Yes Bassman, it does look like walnut. I have a few nice ones growing in my backyard.
Straight wood may make a better bow, but crooked wood makes a better bowyer

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2019, 11:13:32 am »
I'd say walnut too. It should have a specific smell to it. Also, is there any heartwood?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Jakesnyder

« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2019, 01:20:44 pm »
It is pretty small. Like 4" diameter. It does have in the very center a dark walnut color. Thanks guys. I've been trying to work with what i got instead of going out and buying a beautiful looking stave. So sap wood walnut will make a bow? Is it weak in compression or tension?

Offline Jakesnyder

« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2019, 02:09:36 pm »
So I guess a bendy handle is out of the question

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2019, 02:13:35 pm »