Author Topic: New Guy  (Read 5141 times)

Offline akbowman

New Guy
« on: April 08, 2008, 03:46:00 pm »
Great site!

Im new here and figured i would take Dana's advice and make a short introduction.

I live in Alaska on the kenai river and have been and avid outdoorsman my entire life. I have been hunting with bow and arrow for probably 15-18 years, but until just recently, I had never shot a longbow, recurve, selfbow, flatbow, or any other form of bow other than a compound. My Brother-in-law had been talking about making bows out of hickory and i was interested but didnt know the first thing about it. At christmas time our family draws names for gifts and I ended up getting a hickory self bow that he made. From then on i have been completely hooked on the traditional stuff. To be able to make a bow out of a stick and then use it to hunt has got to be like tying your own flies and catching fish with them times 10.

Well to make a long story short, I have been pretty much obsessed with bow building every since christmas. I made my first one out of hickory with some cocobolo in the handle and on the tips. I made it for my wife so i made it 35# at 26" draw. Gave me a chance to figure out the tillering process and a lot of do's and dont's, and i didnt have to worry as much about it breaking being only 35#. Turned out pretty nice and was well worth the satisfaction that i got the first time that it launched and arrow. My second bow I made from maple with a hickory backing, this one i made 48# at 28", was shooting for 50-55 but got a little crazy on the tillering and settled for 48#. I didnt do any tip overlays but did put some bubinga in the handle and, wanting to use something alaskan, I also put a strip of birch in the handle. I would love to make some alaskan wood bows but its proven darn hard to find good bow wood here.