Author Topic: Deer fat?  (Read 2418 times)

Offline osage outlaw

Deer fat?
« on: October 28, 2018, 06:24:38 pm »
Is deer fat good for anything?  I butchered a deer today that was covered in that hard crumbly fat.  I saved a bunch of it.  Can it be rendered down into anything useful?  How would I render fat?  I've never tried it before.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline burchett.donald

Re: Deer fat?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2018, 06:33:50 pm »
  Clint,
          You can melt it in a slow cooker and then strain...
                                                                                    Don
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

Offline Mesophilic

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2018, 06:58:17 pm »
When I don't have bacon grease on hand I like to use the fat from the animal I'm cooking in the cooking process.  So if I were making a venison roast or stew I would make a brown roux using the deer fat, and use that to thicken the drippings into a gravy or to thicken the broth in the stew.  Will also use the deer fat to sear the meat before stewing or roasting, as well as the vegetables, before it all goes in the crockpot.  Don't forget to deglaze.  Makes the final dish taste better than using a vegetable oil. 

If you want to do something different you can get a soap recipe calculated at soapcalc dot net.  I could explain my process for soap making if you want,  but otherwise won't go in to further detail.
Trying is the first step to failure
-Homer Simpson-

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2018, 07:04:39 pm »
I have some deer tallow soap that JW sent me. You can also make a leather dressing with deer fat, bees wax and pine pitch. You can also use it in pitch glue.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline JEB