Author Topic: Sinew backing  (Read 2803 times)

Offline Jakesnyder

Sinew backing
« on: July 21, 2018, 08:33:40 am »
I am fairly new to making bows but have made a few and want to try my hand at a sinew backed hickory shortish bow. I have some staves but they are not fully dry yet. (My moisture reader read around 12%) I am wanting to rough it out and get it floor tillered. So my question is can I apply a couple of layers before the bow is completely dry or do I have to wait till it gets to about 8% to start applying the sinew?
One thing that making bows has taught me is patience and sometimes it is best to wait than regret it later on. But I wanted to see what some experienced bowyers had to say about it.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Sinew backing
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 09:48:34 am »
You can add sinew now as long as the tiller is OK. You'll have be sure the wood and sinew are drier before stressing the bow. You'll add more moisture to the wood by adding the sinew.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Jakesnyder

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2018, 10:00:16 am »
Ok and i cant heat treat the belly after the sinew is on right? If I sinew back it should I worry about heat treating the belly?  Hickory is a little weaker in compression than tension right?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2018, 10:38:06 am »
The sinew will help relieve the belly stress but if you want to heat treat the belly, do it before you add the sinew.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline RandyN

« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2018, 11:16:54 am »
Like Pat said heat treat the belly before the sinew goes on. Don't forget to seal the belly  after heat treating, before putting the sinew on.
Good luck

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2018, 11:36:34 am »