Author Topic: Hinge on brace but not tiller  (Read 4246 times)

Offline MattZA

• Formerly MattTheClueless
Hinge on brace but not tiller
« on: June 30, 2018, 01:39:31 am »
Hi everyone!

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice on what caused this issue I had yesterday.

I'm building a pyramid bow out of a massaranduba board (bulletwood). It's 60" tip to tip, and 58 nock to nock. Fades 1 3/4" wide, narrowing down to 3/8" at the tips. Pretty dainty, I know.

With the longer string on the tiller, I had it looking pretty good at 26". The string was pretty much the length of the bow. I decided to then brace it to normal height (about 6"), and when I strung it, it suddenly developed a huge belly hinge midway down the one limb.

I know I'm an amateur, but I'm pretty certain it wasn't visible on the tiller. The limbs are about 3/8" thick, aiming for 40# at full draw, so nothing crazy. Massaranduba is also a very dense wood.

Any idea what it could be? I strung it up in the correct 'step through' method.

Thanks in advance!

Matt.
Unprofessional bowyer. Johannesburg, South Africa.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: Hinge on brace but not tiller
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2018, 02:51:41 am »
You have jumped some vital stages, without pics I can't tell exactly where you went wrong, but here's my guess list.
1. Long string was too long! It should only just be long enough to slip onto the bow and shouldn't dangle down more than about 5".
The forces on the bow limbs are at a different angle with a long string compared with brace.
Say it takes 40# on your very long string to pull the bow so that the tips come back 6". You then brace it at 6" and the draw weight at 6" is now zero (or st a couple of pounds at 1", if you say you cant measure it at brace). Where has the 40# gone? It's all stress in the wood which is what will show up your small tillering errors which weren't obvious before.