Author Topic: Help with shooting new bow?  (Read 2173 times)

Offline Ben.Kellerman

Help with shooting new bow?
« on: February 14, 2018, 06:31:11 pm »
I'm new to the whole world of archery and recently finished my first bow(and almost done with my 3rd!). Is this normal and I just need to put some sort of padding on my arm or am I doing something wrong?  I didn't really notice the string whacking my arm that hard while shooting but after a hundred arrows or so I came inside and started feeling the sting!  Any help would be great! Don't really feel like getting this beat up every time I shoot my bows.  Thanks!

Offline JWMALONE

Re: Help with shooting new bow?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2018, 06:32:53 pm »
You need an arm guard to start.
Red Oak its the gateway wood!

Offline S.C. hunter

• does a possum have enough brains to tan his hide ?
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2018, 06:40:03 pm »
Ben,
   It's the way you hold the bow. turn your hand to the right a little, not straight up, and down. slightly bend at the elbow. you need to grip the bow with mostly the thumb part of you hand with about a 45 degree angle on bow handle.
 I used to even tear up arm guards, until a friend of mine showed me the right way. haven't used one in years now.
  Steve

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2018, 06:41:09 pm »
Kind of an odd place where you are getting hit. You do need an arm guard but also see if you can have a friend familiar with shooting to see how you are holding the bow.

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2018, 06:42:41 pm »
  We posted at the same time Steve, for the record I never have worn an armguard but do get nailed every once in a while, usually on dryfire.

Offline Morgan

« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2018, 06:45:23 pm »