Author Topic: accidentally made a 60# bow  (Read 3851 times)

Offline Julian

accidentally made a 60# bow
« on: October 27, 2017, 03:00:57 am »
Hey, so I recently posted the longbow I made.

My scale arrived today, and the bow weighed in at 60#

I'm a healthy, fit guy but I'm quite new to trad shooting so I was wondering if I should lighten my bow. Otherwise I thought I'd make a new one, and aim for say, 35#, and shoot that one to build up form. I went to the range today and while I had no issues drawing my bow, I was starting to get sore in the neck before an hour was up so I feel like I should drop down in weight a bit.

thoughts?

On the other hand, the bow feels great, makes a really satisfying thud in the target haha.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: accidentally made a 60# bow
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2017, 03:37:41 am »
Don't drop to 35#, that's going from one extreme to the other ::).
Just use this bow a little at a time for a say a week then study it and re-work it to drop 5-10# It gives you a chance to improve the tiller if needed and it's not much of a job to rasp off little evenly from the belly.
A bow often needs a little fiddling and fettling after it's had 100 arrows through it.
Funny enough, I had a call from a guy last week. I'd made him a 60# with a Yew stave that he'd cut, he brought it back a while later and asked me to take off 5#.
He wants me to make him another now he's cut and seasoned another stave. He says he regrets having 5# taken off the first one ::)
The moral is, only ever take off half what you think you want.
Del
« Last Edit: October 27, 2017, 03:41:23 am by Del the cat »
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Julian

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2017, 06:40:46 am »
Thanks Del, will do :~)

Watching your youtube videos really helped me out, by the by!

Offline Stick Bender

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2017, 07:17:23 am »