Author Topic: Bow Finish  (Read 2226 times)

Offline legend

Bow Finish
« on: August 03, 2017, 01:46:14 pm »
Hi Guys ,
Probably been asked before , but im new to bow making and would like to ask peoples opinion as to what they think the best finish is for a Flat bow I am making at present , Greenhart belly with a Hickory Backing ?
Cheers .
Mike

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Bow Finish
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2017, 04:38:02 pm »
Mike, I've used Tru-Oil for years with good results. Tru-Oil is a linseed oil based gun stock finish with a self leveling glossy finish. I reduce the shine of the Tru-oil on my bows with a quick spray of satin poly.
 You'll get lots of answers to your question and probably most have been proved as a good bow finish after years of use.
 A good primitive finish is hand rubbed animal fat(oil) like bear grease or bacon fat.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2017, 05:01:21 pm »
Tung oil works really good too, so does poly
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline hobbyaccumulator

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2017, 05:40:13 pm »
I am also on the finish part of finishing my first bow :p

I decided to go with Boiled Linseed Oil because it was cheap on Amazon Prime and looks like it has good results in pictures i've seen.

But some other great suggestions i've read about are Tung Oil, Danish Oil, Tru-Oil, MinWax, and polyurethane (many different types) Check out this video for a small comparison of oil based finishes

There are also water based finishes.

Here is a long video with a bunch of different finishes for both water and oil based finishes and when you could use them and how to apply them properly. This video will probably answer the question of what finish to use and them some if you wanna sit through it. I found it very fascinating.

Good luck!