Author Topic: Bow wood you can find in Sweden  (Read 4923 times)

Offline Stereotype

Bow wood you can find in Sweden
« on: May 29, 2017, 06:21:01 am »
Hello!

I'm totally new to the art of bow crafting.
I've done a lot of research and feel ready to try and make my first bow.

The only problem is finding the wood.
I was hoping that the trees growing around my area (västernorrland) would be of any use.
I'm not expecting to make incredible bows but everywhere
I try to get information about Birch, Fir, Pine and Alder tree which is pretty much what grows here. I get nothing but bad/semi-bad experiences with said trees.

I was hoping to get in contact with any swedish bowyers or anyone with experience about these trees.

Best regards Erik.

Offline loon

Re: Bow wood you can find in Sweden
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 06:27:36 am »
Birch alone can make good bows!

No junipers?

Maybe you could take inspiration from Saami bows. Compression pine (not a certain type of pine tree, but the reaction wood from certain parts of the tree: branches or the trunk if the tree is made to grow bent, called lyly by Saami apparently) backed with birch, works well. Some of them actually were selfbows, apparently.

Certain pine species have better wood, too (pinus sylvestris?). Kviljo would know more. Actually, "Alongside a mountain, or a bog where the ground is soft is usually good. But any curved trunk will be ok."

Here's some he made. But I think a straight bow is better for a first...

Though apparently they can have handles, too (made by someone else)

Code: [Select]
https://1.bp.blogspot.com/_doQrQrvAldg/TL1mTl155zI/AAAAAAAAABI/l67FL1n926g/s1600/IMG_0087.JPG
from https://northernwildernesskills.blogspot.com/2010/10/fenno-ugric-bow.html

Someone made a very nice birch flatbow. I'm trying to find it..
« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 03:49:58 pm by loon »

Offline loon

« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 09:38:46 am by loon »

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2017, 08:19:28 am »