Author Topic: Atlatl dart spine and length  (Read 6641 times)

Offline High-Desert

Atlatl dart spine and length
« on: May 11, 2017, 09:12:32 am »
I'm new to this atlatl dart making thing. I've made atlatl's, but never used them because I never made darts for them. I cut some red osier dogwood a few months back and found some that looked like they could make some darts. Right now they are about 6" long, but may be too limber. I'm curious how important the darts length is versus it's spine. Will it hurt to cut it down until it's the correct spine but only be 4' long? Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

Eric
Eric

Offline willie

Re: Atlatl dart spine and length
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 10:07:23 am »
Eric,

I would not cut the length down, six foot is about right.

what is the small end diameter?, and where is the balance point and the overall length?

spine is mostly about how hard you throw.

Offline High-Desert

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2017, 10:23:41 am »
The small end is about 3/8", and the balance is about 2/3 forward. I gave them a toss, they fly straight with no fletchig, but it is a very gentle toss, I would like to throw much harder.
Eric

Offline willie

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2017, 10:44:17 am »
they fly straight with no fletchig  :)

what happens when you throw it harder?   what kind of range are you hoping to throw? 2/3 is prettty good balance if you are getting good flight without feathers.

nothing wrong with "a very gentle toss"  if you can throw it thirty yards at a target on the ground without lobing it too high.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2017, 12:03:41 pm »