Author Topic: Wild curving twisting dogwood stave  (Read 2113 times)

Offline Whiskeyjet

Wild curving twisting dogwood stave
« on: March 16, 2017, 02:16:32 pm »
So I've got this dogwood stave that came from a trunk log in front of my house. It has a wild amount of reflex, but not even remotely symmetrical. About 12 inches one side, 4 inches on the other tip. Oh and the less reflexes tip has 90ish degrees of twist. Stave is 65" long. 2 inches wide at tips, 4 in the middle. I'm thinking of roughing it out somewhat, following the grain and twist best I can, then steaming out the twist when it's a manageable thickness.  Should I let it finish seasoning before I remove the twist? Try to tie it down instead? IDK folks this is my first attempt at making anything from a stave so if my plan is stupid, my feelings aren't gonna be hurt if you say so 😉. 

As far as the reflex, should I take it out of the left side or add more to the right side? Neither? Both?

I'm not afraid to fail so if you have a challenging suggestion I'm still game.

Offline DC

Re: Wild curving twisting dogwood stave
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2017, 02:39:24 pm »