Author Topic: Plains gull wing tiller?  (Read 3402 times)

Offline High-Desert

Plains gull wing tiller?
« on: March 02, 2017, 11:51:55 pm »
This is my first attempt at a plains style yew bow with setback in the handle, and I'm questioning the tiller.
It's 40" long, 1.5" wide at the handle tapering to 1/2" at the tips, 4.5 layers of sinew. The picture shows it drawn to 16" at 43 lbs. I'm guessing that I need the fades to work more and a tad more bend on the outer right limb. I don't have a braced profile pick, but can post one if needed. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Eric
Eric

Offline loon

Re: Plains gull wing tiller?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 11:56:31 pm »
Is it symmetric? It looks like the left limb is stiffer..

Offline willie

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 12:01:40 am »
how thick is it at the handle center? with such a short length, a good bit of the bow has to work, I would think, although I am not sure how much in the handle.  Do you have a model or example to work from? what finished draw length are you going for?

Offline High-Desert

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 12:05:30 am »
Every time I look at the photo, which limb appears stiffer changes. I'm not sure if it's because of the slight angle of the photo. It is symmetric.
I have been looking for examples in books and online, and there seems to be a lot of variance in the types of tiller I'm seeming. I'm going for 20-21" draw
Eric

Offline willie

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2017, 12:15:49 am »
In the photo, the limb curve looks fairly symmetrical against the grid, but the handle does not look square with the top of the grid. What happens if you flip the bow around?

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2017, 01:54:21 am »
I like set back handles to flatten out at full draw, depending on degree.
One thing I learned building these, you don't get as much draw length as you might hope.
Draw the bow in hand for final tillering, things will change a bit from the tree

mikekeswick