Author Topic: First bow build  (Read 1758 times)

Offline Theshadow38ish

First bow build
« on: February 01, 2017, 10:47:43 am »
This is my first attempt to build a bow.  It is Service Berry 65 inches with 70 #  at 30 inches.  It has several knots on the upper limb and also some bug damage that has healed over.  still in the final tillering process.  Let me know what you think or any suggestions.

Offline Philipp A

Re: First bow build
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 11:07:07 am »
Glad to see you making your first bow. How far along are you in the tillering process? In any case good luck with finishing it, looks like a challenging stave to start with  :)

Offline DC

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2017, 11:24:56 am »
That damage would worry me. It's fairly close to the tip so it might be OK but----if you're already out to 30".

Offline Theshadow38ish

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 12:01:44 pm »
I left it a little thick on the limbs about to mid limb where knots are in upper limb anticipating some cracks in belly.  And I did get a few cracks running long ways.  so I am reducing the areas where the cracks are and checking with tillering.  I have taken it all the way to 30 inch seems to be stacking the last 2 inches.

Offline Springbuck

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2017, 01:42:02 pm »
If it's cracking longwise, is it dry? 

Offline Springbuck

« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2017, 01:43:03 pm »
ServiceBerry where I live is small diameter and the grain twists like mad.

Offline Theshadow38ish

« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2017, 02:10:50 pm »
Springbuck: Yes it is dry.  we get some service berry that is about 4 inch diamter

Offline upstatenybowyer

« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2017, 07:50:20 pm »
Cool man, thanks for posting.  :) I'd love to see it bending. If you get a chance post some pics of what it looks like braced and at full draw.
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb