Author Topic: Unibond 800  (Read 2639 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

Unibond 800
« on: January 16, 2017, 05:47:54 am »
I bought done unibond 800 for a bamboo osage glue up. I have never used it before. Do the surfaces need to be roughed up prior to gluing? My father in law who is a woodworker says it's a misconception that wood should be roughed up before gluing and that they should actually be as smooth as possible. Possibly he was only talking about wood glue tho

Offline Eric Krewson

Re: Unibond 800
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 09:04:00 am »
I have made about 50 BBOs, I started with Urac and have since used Unibond after they quit making Urac. I roughed up the osage backs and bamboo bellys of every one of the bows I made with a toothing plane iron, I have had no glue failures .

Offline High-Desert

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2017, 09:51:32 am »
I've never done any actual testing of this, but a smooth back does make more sense. A smooth back is a clean cut on the wood vs roughing the back which is tearing the fibers, making them weaker. Using a toothing plain is cutting the fibers,  as well as increasing gluing surface, which is beneficial. Is there really a loss of holding power from the glue with a smooth surface vs roughed up with sand paper, it's probably negligible. If you are going to do something to the back, I'd say a smooth surface or toothing plain like Mr. Krewson said. Just my 2 cents.

Eric
Eric

Offline Lee Lobbestael

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2017, 10:03:58 am »
The gluing surfaces are just so smooth and tight fitting, it seems like a shame to gouge them  all up

Offline Aaron H

« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2017, 10:04:34 am »
I like to use 80 grit sandpaper on the mating surfaces.  Unibond is a gap filling glue, compared to say titebond 3 which prefers a smoother surface

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2017, 10:15:20 am »