Author Topic: Arrow shelf?  (Read 2164 times)

Offline upstatenybowyer

Arrow shelf?
« on: November 11, 2016, 07:55:13 pm »
Fellow PAs,

I'm working on a hhb selfbow at the moment and I'm considering cutting an arrow shelf into this one, which I've never done before (I usually put a little extra leather for a rest). The bow is floor tillered. The handle is 1 2/8" wide and 1 1/4" thick with 2" long fades widening out to a width of 1 3/4" at the start of the working limb.

Questions:

Do I have enough wood in the handle?
How deep do you typically go on the shelf?
How do people feel about cut-in shelves in general?

Any and all thoughts are appreciated.  :)

P.S. that's just some left over cambium on the back
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline DC

Re: Arrow shelf?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2016, 08:43:12 pm »
About a half dozen bows ago I thought I would man up and go without a rest. I wore a glove because I thought the fletching would cut my hand. One day I forgot my glove and was surprised that I couldn't even feel the arrow leave. Once in a while if I nock the arrow too low I can feel it go by. It's just a reminder to pay attention. With no rest all your questions become non-issues and I feel you can actually make the handle a bit narrower.

Offline upstatenybowyer

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 08:47:15 pm »
Thanks DC. That's kinda what I wanted to hear.  :D
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2016, 09:22:38 pm »
Now that I have spouted off I should mention that I only target shoot. If I was sitting in a stand waiting for deer all day I would probably want a rest to keep the arrow in position. I just wanted to say that before the hunters jumped on me ;D ;D

Offline upstatenybowyer

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2016, 09:27:24 pm »