Author Topic: Bamboo backing on sinew and Osage recurve?  (Read 3462 times)

Offline bows, booze and shoes

Bamboo backing on sinew and Osage recurve?
« on: October 12, 2016, 04:52:51 pm »
Hello fellow bowyers, quick question for you:

For my next bow I wanted to make a Osage recurve with sinew backing.  Is it possible--or recommended to use a planed bamboo backing on top of the sinew?  I've never worked with bamboo before.  I've personally seen a hickory self-bow with bamboo backing, but I'm not sure if the bamboo can be heated/steamed into the appropriate recurve shape.  I'm also not sure if because of the added stress of the recurve--the bamboo/sinew will stay glued?

I've got several staves of Osage to work with, plenty of sinew and one piece of bamboo (3Rivers archery)--so I'm not completely dedicated to this course.  If this is a bad idea I'll stick with sinew and snakeskin for the recurve and just use the bamboo on top of an Osage longbow.

Just wanted to get some feedback.

Thanks

Offline PatM

Re: Bamboo backing on sinew and Osage recurve?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 05:03:10 pm »
 It makes no sense at all. I suggest you read up a bit more on how bow materials work and how the various portions of a bow work. Back, belly, core etc.

You can use bamboo and bend it to any shape or you can use sinew. You can even use sinew on top of bamboo so that the bamboo becomes more of a core but that is an advanced and basically unnecessary step.

Offline Stick Bender

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2016, 05:09:48 pm »
If your making a osage recurve & making it with enought length for your draw you shouldn't need any backing providing you are following one ring on the back and doesn't have any major defects, osage is a phenomenal wood in a lot of respects.
If you fear failure you will never Try !

Offline loon

« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2016, 05:21:01 pm »
make a thick bamboo bow, sinew backed :p
I think it can bend more than osage?