Author Topic: Are Stone points legal  (Read 5713 times)

Offline tommyredfox

Are Stone points legal
« on: October 03, 2016, 10:25:13 pm »
Hello hunter's and shooters. I am new to this post. I live in Ohio and a first time dear hunter. The game warden is telling me stone points are not legal. Any Ohio hunter's out there use stone points if so have you had any problems with the law?

Offline osage outlaw

Re: Are Stone points legal
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2016, 10:37:39 pm »
They are legal in Indiana.  I just did a quick search online for Ohio and found this.  It doesn't say what material the broadheads have to be made from.  I would call your DNR and ask for clarification.

Longbow or Bow: Minimum draw weight 40 pounds. This includes compound bows and recurve bows. The arrow tip needs a minimum of two cutting edges, which may be exposed or unexposed and a minimum 3/4-inch width. Expandable and mechanical broadheads are legal.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 11:05:51 pm »
OO's right.Check it out with the DNR.They are legal in Iowa too.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline tommyredfox

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2016, 11:20:28 pm »
Ok thanks gents.

Offline Urufu_Shinjiro

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2016, 10:02:10 am »
If the warden is telling you no make sure you maybe get something from DNR in writing or something, you don't want to cross the warden without solid info backing you up.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2016, 11:14:06 am »
When I called the NC DNR about the definition of a barbed point the head law enforcement guy told me it can't look like a fish hook. I told him none of my broadheads looked like fish hooks he told me to ask the DNR officer that would be writing the ticket to explain it.   
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Lumberman