Author Topic: Chronographing an arrow without a chronograph  (Read 4943 times)

Offline Zedd

Chronographing an arrow without a chronograph
« on: September 10, 2016, 01:29:40 pm »
I'm one of those fella's who read the posts, but rarely reply choosing to use the search button to get answers to usually stupid questions of mine...I think there is a word for guys like me. Yes, I am a troller. My background is physics (former Navy-Nucular Tech) and figured with available archery ballistics calculators available on line, I could get a fair arrow velocity/momentum at distances given arrow mass and three points of trajectory.
  • 614 grain arrow, measured on a hornady bullet scale
  • zero @ 10 yards, group size 3 1/2" (I use a sight)
  • 4" @ 15 yards (using the 10 yard pin), group size 4"
  • 10 /14" @ 20 yards group size (using the 10 yard pin) 5 1/4"
All I have to do then is change the velocity in the input table until I match the charted trajectory. This is giving me a 614 gr arrow speed of 187 fps. First point, obviously making sure my groups are accurate is important. My groupings are fairly consistent (though I hope to get better as I practice. Second point, the scale is calibrated so I am confident of the mass of the arrow. All that being said, it seems like the velocity for such a heavy arrow is very high. I have shot distances in between these and the arrow definitely seems to be following this trajectory. Is there something wrong with my logic, or am is it possible to be getting such good performance from such an inexpensive bow?

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Chronographing an arrow without a chronograph
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2016, 01:32:37 pm »
we would need to know how far you are drawing the arrow
and what the weight of the bow is at that draw length
and what kind of string you are using
and what kind of bow it is,,
a 60# wood bow, might shoot that arrow,, 160 fps,,
« Last Edit: September 10, 2016, 01:38:17 pm by bradsmith2010 »

Offline Zedd