Author Topic: Revisiting "Just What is a Self Bow, Anyhow?  (Read 13918 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Revisiting "Just What is a Self Bow, Anyhow?
« on: March 02, 2008, 08:32:27 pm »
yankeemongiat - "So Don....are we going to start considering all Bows that are backed with Sinew and Rawhide and Fabric ....as Backed Bows??? I believe that they should be....since they are not a true Selfbow....what is everyone Else's thoughts on this???

OldBow- I have always considered that the Traditional Bowyer's Bible I described how one makes a self bow. In it is described various non-wood backings such as sinew or rawhide. So, I'm sticking with the Bible. A self bow can be backed but not laminated.

yankeemongiat- Buckwheat says.....OOOTAY!!!!  :o
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline sailordad

Re: Revisiting "Just What is a Self Bow, Anyhow?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 08:37:36 pm »
I'm still a newbie so i don't know if my opinion on this is just.
but i feel as long as it is one piece of wood for the length of the bow excluding tip overlays and riser blocks or natural backings such as sinew or rawhide that its a self bow.

PEACE,
                                                            Tim
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 08:58:20 pm »
A selfbow is one piece of wood or 2 spliced at the handle. A backed bow is a backed bow. It cannot be a selfbow because it consists of more than one material. I don't have a problem with however the contest is set up but a selfbow is a selfbow. :) Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2008, 09:17:26 pm »