Author Topic: Questions about Prunus padus - bird cherry  (Read 3440 times)

Offline freke

Questions about Prunus padus - bird cherry
« on: August 20, 2016, 03:45:57 pm »
Hi,
We have at my family farm a lot of Prunus padus, and read the wood should work although not very strong so I decide to test it and now working on one bow, although it is still not dry enough to tiler.

My questions is if any here have any experience? should it/ or not be heat treated, dimensions etc?

thanks
Jonas

Offline turtle

• PA1007207
Re: Questions about Prunus padus - bird cherry
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 09:08:28 pm »
I have no experience with it, but most cherry is weaker in tension than it is in compression so heat treating wouldnt be a good idea. And some sort of backing would probably be a good idea. Hopefully someone with more experience than me will chime in.
Steve Bennett

Offline Joec123able

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2016, 12:01:10 am »
I have a cherry bow I've started, it will be the first of the wood I've tryed. From the roughing out I've done, it seems the wood loves to check badly and is very soft wood. I imagine the wood is pretty brittle for a bow too. I intend to go 68" long, 1 3/4 wide near the handle staying about that wide for 2/3 of the limb and then tapering in to narrow tips. That's the dimensions I intend to use myself, maybe give ya an idea.
I like osage

Offline freke

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2016, 04:40:15 am »
The only info I found are from English warbow society, under lesser known bowwood, and it is listed, weak tensin, acceptable compression and low hysteris and low density. Sounds promissing except it may snap easily:/

So far has my piece not check luckily, difficult using cutting tools as i want to splint in odd direction if not watched carfully and the rasp seems the safest way to go - in general it seems too easy to work and I am worry it may be too weak before final tiller.