Author Topic: Do I need to heat treat this stuff?  (Read 3104 times)

Offline Dances with squirrels

Do I need to heat treat this stuff?
« on: July 12, 2016, 12:15:26 pm »
I'm fairly new to knapping. I messed around with it a few years ago, never got any good at it, and now would like to give it another try. I have aquired some Flint ridge flint and wondered if it should be heat treated? How about Dacite? (sp) does it need heat treated? I have some of that too... at least that's what I was told it was. That stuff seems hard to break.

How do you know whether a material needs heat?
Straight wood may make a better bow, but crooked wood makes a better bowyer

Offline bowmo

Re: Do I need to heat treat this stuff?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 12:37:09 pm »
Never seen Flint Ridge for sale that wasn't already heated so it's probably doesn't need it and dacite is never heated.

Here's a good site with the temps for different rocks tho.

http://gemstone.smfforfree4.com/index.php?topic=3392.0;wap2

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2016, 12:45:04 pm »
I'm not by any means an expert on rock but any dacite I had knapped good without heat treatment. Is it Ohio flint ridge? It usally pretty pricey and colorful stuff to start out with. I've never worked any. I'm not sure but I think it can be worked raw but some colors can come out with heat. If it's Ohio flint ridge I'd find out for sure if it should be cooked and how. Sorry I'm probably not a real lot of help but good luck knapping.
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2016, 07:39:14 pm »
Do not heat Dacite, you will ruin it. And you can look at Flint Ridge and tell. If it is shiney and waxey looking it is heat treated.Most of what you will buy comes from Roy Miller and almost all of it is heat treated to perfection.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?