Author Topic: Urgent question about lilac!  (Read 2397 times)

Offline penderbender

• island life...
Urgent question about lilac!
« on: June 25, 2016, 05:37:58 pm »
Hey guys, I just got two really nice pieces of lilac this morning. About 3 1/2" by 4 ' or so. Was just wondering about seasoning and whatnot. Should I take the bark off, split it, is the sapwood good? I have no experience with lilac. Any comments are appreciated.  Thanks - Brendan

Offline Josh B

Re: Urgent question about lilac!
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2016, 05:54:37 pm »
I have very limited experience with lilac.  Mostly because the first bunch of staves I cut tore themselves apart within a couple weeks of cutting them.  The one that didn't check into kindling is floor tillered and looking promising.  Time will tell.  What I did to get it that far along was peel the bark and wrap it in Saran wrap.  After about six weeks I started poking holes in the Saran wrap in intervals every few weeks to slowly let the moisture out.  I didn't come up with that technique, but it sure worked for me.  I think I read about somebody doing that with plum and tried it out.  That's about all I have for ya. Josh

Offline penderbender

• island life...
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2016, 06:07:32 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply Josh!  Much appreciated. I was afraid of that. But then again I have plum the same size but longer, with the bark on and ends sealed. And it hasn't checked or done anything funny yet. For six months now.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2016, 07:00:33 pm by penderbender »

Offline Knotty

• Don't regret your past, learn from it.
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2016, 06:08:32 pm »
Plum must be great wood to work with !
Never even heard of Lilac , but good luck!
~Isaia

Offline DuBois

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2016, 06:10:43 pm »