Author Topic: Splicing ipe Glue??  (Read 6271 times)

wvfknapper

Splicing ipe Glue??
« on: February 27, 2008, 09:58:00 pm »
I have read a few comments that ipe is hard to glue, and I want to purchase a nice dark ipe board on ebay , I need to know what is the best type of glue to use? Also what is the best Backing material or do you think a quarter sawn piece of ipe , spliced,  with a glued on handle (Maybe also with a lam on the back of the splice) make a 68" 60 lb @27" bow and be stable with no backing?

wvflintknapper

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: Splicing ipe Glue??
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 10:08:27 pm »
  Robert, I'm no expert on Ipe but so far I've used TB3 and urac with good results after degreasing with oven cleaner and acetone. I'd back it with bamboo or hickory.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline sailordad

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 10:40:07 pm »
i made a boo backed ipe elb,glued with bowgrip 100,72 inches ntn,pulls 60# @ 29 inches,shoots sweet. spits arrows at 140 fps
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline kayakfisher

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 10:44:32 pm »
Hey Like Mullet im not an expert on it all the lams and splices that Ive done has been with Weldwood Resorcinal glue wiped down the pieces with Acetone first before applying glue
The river of life twist and bends, you never know whats around the next bend till your there

Springfield Mo home of  Kids,Tomato's and Tornado's

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 01:22:03 am »
Like Eddie, I have made boo and hickory backed ipe bows and used TBII, TBIII and Urac. I degrease with acetone. Never had a glue failure and if you looked at my glue joints you would be surprised. :o  Either of the 3 glues would work for a splice also.    Pat