Author Topic: Anyone grow any hot peppers?  (Read 5801 times)

Offline Mo_coon-catcher

Anyone grow any hot peppers?
« on: June 15, 2016, 05:02:45 pm »
I'm curius if anyone else is growing any hot peppers this year. This is my first year trying them. I tried getting three varieties started from seed, but they died shortly after sprouting due to over watering on the first batch and too much wind on the second. Those were lemon drops, red devil tongues, and Carolina reapers. Once the second batch died I got some started plants. These ones are Hungarian wax, carribean red, and ghost. The wax plant are covered in buds and has a couple of fruits started. I can't wait to try them. So does anyone else grow the hot peppers? And have any tips to share?

Thanks,
Kyle

Oh and here's my first pepper started.

Offline lebhuntfish

• If the wood will bend, I'll make it beautiful!
Re: Anyone grow any hot peppers?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2016, 05:34:58 pm »
I just grow banana peppers I'm not much on the hot ones.
The main thing is to keep the bugs off them and don't over water. I see you have them in bucks. Make sure they are where they can drain good. Make sure you fertilize to. In a bucket you tend to wash all the nutrients out of the soil just by watering. I also use Epson salts.  Jut buy a bag and read the directions on the back. That's what I  do and I get a ton of banana peppers.

Patrick
Once an Eagle Scout, always an Eagle Scout!

Missouri, where all the best wood is! Well maybe not the straightest!

Building a bow has been the most rewarding, peaceful, and frustrating things I have ever made with my own two hands!

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2016, 05:39:04 pm »
I have a hard time with peppers. I can get one good plant. The rest die. My Anaheim's didn't make it this year. But my purple bells are doing fine!
If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got.