Author Topic: First try  (Read 5991 times)

grantmac

First try
« on: February 26, 2008, 09:21:21 pm »
This is my first try. Started with a very nice straight grained Red Oak board.
It is really underweight, I think because I started with a fairly thin board and I was going for sort of an ELB shape. It's a bit flat in the middle but the tips are nice and thin.
I may back it with some maple or something to try and bring up the weight. It's also fairly long for my draw-length so I will probably shorten it to try for some weight as well.
Well here are the pics. Have only shot it with that crappy string which must have lots of stretch.

Cheers,
        Grant

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
Re: First try
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 09:24:35 pm »
Great looking bow Grant. Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 09:25:31 pm »
Welcome to PA Grant, it looks like you did a great job for yer first bow, ya should have seen mine :-[ :-[
You could cut her down some and gain a few pounds if ya want. But ya know its only your first and there will be
many more :)
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 10:01:33 pm »
Man that looks great to me (almost perfect tiller)! Is your string long? do you have a braced picture?
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Offline huntertrapper

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2008, 10:27:49 pm »
good job man i hope my first turns out as well as yours did.
Modern Day Tramp

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2008, 11:09:34 pm »