Author Topic: Mulberry bow wood question?  (Read 9026 times)

Offline lauderw55

Mulberry bow wood question?
« on: May 29, 2016, 06:29:07 pm »
Hello I am fairly new to primitive archery and most the bows I have made have been from whitewoods such as hickory, oak etc. there isn't slot of Osage growing where I live and where I have found it I don't have permission to cut. But I have noticed there is quite a bit of mulberry around I not sure which species (any help on that would be appreciated). So what I was wondering is to get some opinions on if any of you guys have used this wood before and have any tips on working it? Like is it best to follow a heartwood growth ring or can you take bark off like hickory and that work ect.? My favorite design is a bendy handle bow like Cherokee flat d bow. Any help would be appreciated

Offline Hrothgar

Re: Mulberry bow wood question?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 10:55:43 am »
Mulberry will make a good bow and its easy to work. There's not supposed to be any difference in quality between red or white mulberry. Yes you can just remove the bark and cambium and use the first growth ring for the bow's back. Mulberry has nice thick growth rings which tend to drop off pretty quickly when you taper the limbs. Leave it slightly wider than osage.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2016, 07:49:05 pm »
 Mulberrys a cousin to o'sage. That tells you all right there about mulberry as a bow wood.
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Limbit

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2016, 01:36:09 am »
Mulberry is a great wood. If you read up on it, the bow design is typically a little overbuilt as compared to an Osage bow (the stuff I read said 15% added to the dimensions). It heat treats well also...at least the stuff I use does. 

Offline lauderw55

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 06:39:36 am »