Author Topic: Urgent Stave Question  (Read 2900 times)

Offline Knotty

• Don't regret your past, learn from it.
Urgent Stave Question
« on: May 29, 2016, 04:02:36 pm »
Hello everybody!
My name's Isaia, and I'm new to bowyering and to this wonderful community.
I have a question regarding a Brazilian Guava stave I have cut up a couple days ago.
Here in Brazil , unfortunately, it is quite hard to find adequate timber for Bow crafting.
I do know there are a few well-known species such as Ipê and Jatobá (Brazilian Cherry),
But it's not like Hickory or Maple in the US (Which you could find anywhere).

Anyway, back to my question.
Since Brazilian Guava trees have extreme bends and twists in them (due to their high flexibility and water content) this was the best stave I could come up with.

Picture: http://prntscr.com/b9x3pg
.           http://prntscr.com/b9xcsa

As you may see, it has quite a few knots (everywhere) , and knowing that knots could potentially be harmful to the bow, I am a little nervous about working with this stave.
I have seen many videos about chasing back growth rings, carving knots etc.. But that goes beyond my current worksmanship levels.
I was wondering if I could eventually make a Selfbow out of the stave , as is, or if it will eventually need some type of backing..

Also, if I were to back it, since the stave is quite small in diameter, should I just ignore the knots in the back side and cut through them (flattening the back)?

Thank you in advance for your answers!

PS: Excuse my poor English as I'm not from an English-speaking country.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2016, 04:07:15 pm by Knotty »
~Isaia

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: Urgent Stave Question
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2016, 05:10:17 pm »
Welcome! Your English is excellent.
That's a tough stave for a beginner. It is never a good idea to flatten a knot.
I do  not have any experience with that wood.
Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!