Author Topic: Red Oak Tiller Advice  (Read 6074 times)

Offline brokenarrow45

Red Oak Tiller Advice
« on: February 20, 2008, 08:48:45 pm »
Hey guys, I am new here and just getting into making bows so here is a red oak board bow that I started on. Never done this before so any advice on the tiller would be appreciated.

I figure the left limb will be the top, right now it is bending 1/4 in. more than the right.

Thanks!

Offline Mike_A

• Mike Ailstock Gatesville, TX
Re: Red Oak Tiller Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 08:59:16 pm »
Hi Brokenarrow. It looks to me like the tillers a bit uneven. I'd say the majority of the bend is happening in the inner third of the limbs, especially the right limb. If your going for a d bow you'll want a smooth bend the whole way. I'm new at this too so you may want to get a few more responses before you make your choice as to what to do. Also if you invest in tiller board it'll make it a lot easier to see how it's bending. I used a simple piece of cheap plywood drilled to a couple studs and marked lines every two inches both horizontal and vertical. It really helps a lot and I wish I would have done it sooner. Just my thoughts. Hope it helps. Mike
Proud member of PETA ( People for the Eating of Tasty Animals)

Offline koan

• Brian D. Mo.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 09:23:09 pm »
Lookin good. Are you goin for a bend in the handle bow?....Brian
When you complement a lady on her dress.....make sure she is the one wearing it.....

ozark caveman

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 09:32:26 pm »
It looks to me that you are trying for a D bow. The biggest mistake that I've seen beginners make is that they are so afraid of getting a whip ended bow that they end up with what I call Log tips. Then all of the bend in their bow is at the middle of the bow. Remember that the tips are your thinnest point :)

a finnish native

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2008, 09:27:38 am »