Author Topic: Practicing Native American Archers in Montana  (Read 6870 times)

Offline David Long

• Only dead fish swim with the stream.
Practicing Native American Archers in Montana
« on: February 20, 2008, 06:40:51 pm »
Does anyone know a Montanan with Indian heritage who hunts or makes traditional archery equipment? I am a photographer/writer researching a magazine article and I'd love to become aware of additional contacts. The person (s) does not have to live in Montana, but if their ancestors did.... Any information you can provide is greatly appreciated! I also posted this over on PP.
Dave
NW Montana

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
Re: Practicing Native American Archers in Montana
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 10:35:32 pm »
I don't know of any, but on a recent trip to Montana I went to the Plains Indian Museum in Browning Mt.  The lady that managed the gift shop was involved in getting the college age kids in the town involved in practicing native arts and traditions.  I will p.m. you her email address she might be of help.
Traverse City, MI

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2008, 10:41:06 pm »
The tribal headquarters for the SalishKootenai Confederated Tribes the Flathead Indian Reservation) is at Pablo, Montana.  You can Google up contacts for this group. I tried to contact them awhile back but was not successful.

OldBow
Missoula, Montana
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline David Long

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2008, 10:48:23 pm »