Author Topic: Locust board advice?  (Read 5732 times)

Offline Academonicon

Locust board advice?
« on: February 13, 2016, 10:44:00 pm »
Hey bowyers.  I just bought a black locust board on a whim, and I'd like to turn it into something shootable.  It's pretty short, about 50" of usable wood, but the grain's nice and straight with no apparent flaws or knots/pins.  This is my first time working with locust, so any advice on design or other build-parameters would be welcome!

Thanks!

-Nick

riverrat

Re: Locust board advice?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2016, 12:16:29 am »
never tried a board for a locust bow. staves are nice because on the belly you can see the rings the way they fade as you tiller. and with b. locust tiller is everything.thats kind of short for anything with a handle and even a D bow best draw your gonna get is 25 inches without backing it.i bet you could make a sweet short D bow out of it. if you can get the tiller.Tony

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2016, 09:07:42 am »
Take your board and rip it into 2" wide x 50" boards. Now finger splice them together and you can make a few bows up to 96" long. Locust is so-so in compression. Try backing it with maple. I'd bet that's a nice combo.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline joachimM

• Good - better - broken
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2016, 03:10:05 pm »
Locust is so-so in compression. Try backing it with maple. I'd bet that's a nice combo.