Author Topic: Those of us who teach the trade  (Read 13605 times)

Offline cadet

Re: Those of us who teach the trade
« Reply #60 on: January 31, 2016, 02:53:52 am »
By profession, I'm an English and History teacher; I've also spent time as a JNCO in the Army, so am pretty comfortable being in front of a group of people teaching/instructing them.
Informally, I have taught both a few kids and some adults how to make a self-bow from a selected plank.
Small groups are better - and scrounging enough tools and suitable planks together for more than a few at a time is a challenge - and it's interesting watching the rates of progress at certain steps speed up and slow down.
I'd love to say I'm all altruistic and do it for free, but I don't, and do think that a keener, more receptive breed of student self-selects if they're prepared to pay a modest sum for the experience, and I'm compelled to offer the most attentive and professional tuition I can, too.
My own journey was fuelled by a huge amount of reading to try and understand the basic principles and then having a go to apply them - there's nobody locally that I knew of to learn from.
I'm a relative beginner and a rank amateur still, but I can at least offer my own ideas about why I do things the way I do, without being dogmatic and believing that mine's the only successful way.  Being asked "why?" and "how?" by neophytes challenges me to examine, critique, and maybe even change my own techniques and theories.  I enjoy that, and learn from it.

Offline Carson (CMB)

« Reply #61 on: January 31, 2016, 10:00:41 am »
I have taught bow-making to several groups over the last two years. It is a lot of work, but I get a lot out of it.
I just finished up a workshop with six guys this last weekend. It was a great group and all walked away with respectable bows.