Author Topic: Painting a bow ?  (Read 8402 times)

Offline Stick Bender

Painting a bow ?
« on: January 13, 2016, 07:25:05 am »
I have been admiring all the painted bows on PA lately and was wondering what kind of paint & seal all you painters use on a sinew bow Etc ?
If you fear failure you will never Try !

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Painting a bow ?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 07:55:25 am »
Acrylic craft paint from most big box companies works well.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline simson

• stonehill-primitive-bows
    • stonehill-primitive-bows
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2016, 11:19:15 am »
I do all painting with homemade colors out of earth pigments (mix with hide glue, water and soda).
Sometimes I use wood stain on rawhide in different colors
Simon
Bavaria, Germany

Offline Dakota Kid

• Maker of Things
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2016, 12:07:12 pm »
I've been a professional sign maker and mural artist for 15+ years, specializing in hand painted text and airbrushing. That being said, I prefer oil based paints because they tend to thin better, brush on smoother, and last twice as long. I use a brand called sign painter's 1 shot. It's the paint typically used by motorcycle pin stripe artists. It's made to cover in "1-shot". In a pinch when I can't wait for shipping, rustoleum oil enamel is the best widely available oil paint in my opinion. I've also found I prefer to thin my paint with coleman's camp fuel as opposed to thinners. Besides being cheaper, it has some additional petroleum distillates that slightly retard evaporation and makes pulling long lines feel much smoother.
For a clear coat, they make a flexible automotive grade clear in a spray can that I've been happy with. You can find it at any auto paint supply shop. On plain unpainted wood, I use tung oil with buffing between coats.