Author Topic: beginner advice  (Read 3434 times)

Offline sapling bowyer

beginner advice
« on: January 12, 2016, 10:59:37 am »
Greetings from Turkey! I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. As I am a beginner to this "Primitive Bowmaking" I want some advice and I have some questions. First of all, all the bows I want to make are self bows. I can possibly back them with snake skin in the future. Secondly I want to make stave bows, not board bows and I don't like cutting trunks just to make a bow so I would like to make sapling bows ( max. 3 inch diameter). I would like some recommendations about what type of wood I should use. I have used hazel with success before and I am working on a Yew short bow. I also have very nice straight pieces of black locust but they are mostly sapwood. I read before that we have to use the heartwood only so could I make one out of sapwood? If you have any more advice please comment. :)
Time is short

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: beginner advice
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 11:22:08 am »
Not knowing what wood you have available to you in Turkey it's hard to say. The woods you mentioned are all good bow woods, even the sapwood of locust.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline sapling bowyer

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 11:31:15 am »
there's plenty of olive, hazel and oak(I don't know which kind) but the oaks aren't decent staves. I may also get access to ash but the best staves around are black locust but I'm not sure if the sapwood will perform well
Time is short

Offline dirthas

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 12:15:43 pm »
Black locust is known as a great bow wood, and the sapwood seems to be a matter of debate:

http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,32411.0.html

http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/45985/Black-Locust-sap-wood