Author Topic: Gluing ipe to ipe  (Read 7571 times)

Offline bonater

Gluing ipe to ipe
« on: February 14, 2008, 11:42:41 am »
I recently finished a bamboo back ipe long bow and now after shooting it a few times, I am noticing the glued on handle is coming off.  It is an ipe handle glued directly to the ipe bow with Urac 185 making an ipe to ipe bond.  I toothed the surfaces before glue up.  I thought I had eliminated the bending through the handle by extending the fade into the belly.  I have never worked with ipe before, and I have built other bows very similarly but with different wood, but never had the handle pop off.  What glue works best with ipe, and what can I do to fix this one?   Would it help to put a lamination of a different species of wood between the two ipe pieces because I have heard ipe is notoriously hard to glue?  The bow also has a lot more hand shock than I am used to so it may be that I have more bending through the handle than I thought. 
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Offline bobnewboy

• https://www.flickr.com/photos/bob_d14/
    • The Company of Sixty Field Archers
Re: Gluing ipe to ipe
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 12:35:52 pm »
After finishing the surfaces to be glued (freshly finished is best), degrease the ipe pieces thoroughly with plenty of neat acetone on a clean rag.  Repeat until the rag used no longer pulls off a noticeable amount of yellow stain (oil in the ipe surface).  I always use a resourcinol glue for oily woods like this.  Seems to work for me  ;)
"The Englishman takes great pride in his liberty. He values this gift more than all the joys of life, and would sacrifice everything to retain it. The populace would have you understand there is no country in the world where such perfect freedom can be enjoyed, as in England!" Frenchman, London 1719

Offline snedeker

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 12:55:26 pm »