Author Topic: Why bother searching for the Perfect Board, when you can use fiberglass backing?  (Read 10074 times)

Offline Bowyer Wannabe

Hi guys, I don't want to sound like a smart ass with that question, but I am a beginner, so I was just wondering:
When it comes down to board bows, why do people bother searching for perfectly quarter sawn boards, with no run offs on both sides, when they can use just about any plain sawn board, and back it with fiberglass cloth?
I understand that fiberglass backing isn't traditional, but what if one doesn't mind it?

Isn't fiberglass cloth backing the ultimate solution to not having access to quality wood? Or am I missing something here?
Maybe a plain sawn board with irregular grain would still lift a splinter, even if it is fiberglass cloth backed?

Help me understand, please.

Offline RBLusthaus

This is Primtive Archer and we don't use the F word round these parts.  If using glass is an option for you, there are other places the get the advice you seek. Here, you could get advice on using sinew or raw hide as a backing, but not glass.  You are correct, it is just not what the focus of this site is all about. 

Russ

Offline bowandarrow473

It is true that you could use a glass backing on boards, but that's no fun! Having that threat of breakage looming over you at all times makes you work harder, tiller better, and in the end makes you more satisfied with what you've created.
Whatever you are, be a good one.

Offline Ryan3880

Blasphemy! Blasphemy! Blasphemy!!

Offline PlanB

• SRHacksaw
Also, and I agree with the above, fiberglass isn't a whole lot of fun, at least for me. I used to build boats, and a famous old time yacht designer once said on looking for the first time inside a fiberglass hull, "It looks like frozen snot."