Author Topic: What dementions do you use with what wood  (Read 5838 times)

Offline ccase39

• Loving to learn
What dementions do you use with what wood
« on: October 11, 2015, 12:50:29 pm »
I'm a noob and have made 5 bows recently out of Osage. I have been using the dimensions Ben Harper used in his build alongs. I have based most of them on the red oak board bow build along and have modified it a bit. I've been reading The Bent Stick and am where he is talking about length, width, thickness, and tapering. I was just curious what some of you do when you build a board bow. For a heavier bow the author says to go two inches wide at least half way down the limb. Mine have been a bit thinner. I'm going to try it wider. What belly taper should I use?
Reading
The Traditional Boyers Bible Vol 1
The Bent Stick

Working on bow #7

Offline punch

Re: What dementions do you use with what wood
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2015, 01:14:19 pm »
It depends.  What type of bow you want to build and how heavy is for you. If you go with a pyramid bow there is really no belly taper.  With a red oak board bow 2.5" wide then straight taper to 1/2" nocks will get you 50-60# bow. A 2" wide to mid limb then to 1/2" nocks usually gets me to the mid 50s#. For the belly I would go 10/16 then taper to 1/2# at the end. You can refine it from there.

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2015, 01:41:56 pm »
  Nothing wrong with building board bows for the exsperance. But I think it's time to move on to stave bows. I have nothing against board bows but , I can't see a bunch of indains setting around the camp fire passing around a board looking down it. Desideing the lenth and with to make it.

THERE'S NO EXSPERANCED BOW BUILDERS ON HERE THAN WOULD BUILD THERESELF A BOARD BOW TO USE. Not shooting across the yard.

I realize starting out or it's easy to run down to lowes.

I could'nt even Imagain not cutting my own tree's for staves. Much less rideing down to lowes to pick up a board.