Author Topic: Decrowning  (Read 2338 times)

Offline Dustinhill

Decrowning
« on: September 17, 2015, 07:23:59 pm »
Hi, I'm new to bow making and would appreciate some advice. After making one bow where I had a blank and cut the profile, nocks and tillered it., I'm trying to work with what I could find in the woods behind my house.  I have a 50" hickory branch that I've got bending a few inches. I layed it out so most of the knots are on the back. If it's 2" wide at the widest point, should I decrown it and sinew back it? Or just carefully remove the bark? I don't want to be wasteful of the wood I've taken,  and am wondering if I should decrown sinew back it because of the high crown, short length and knots. Thanks, your help is much appreciated.
- Dustin

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: Decrowning
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 08:03:02 pm »
I would suggest remove the bark leaving the knots in tact,,,hickory is a great wood,,,
if you are successful,, next time try sinew backing,, but you dont have to decrown to sinew back,,you can ,, but is not necessary,,B

Offline bowandarrow473

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 09:25:27 pm »
Hickory is one of my favorite woods for its ability to take the high crown that I like to have on my bows and still have plenty of tension left over in case the humidity takes a sharp turn downward or someone who is holding the bow overdraws. Seriously, the stuff is mega in tension, a bow from a two inch sapling would probably be a good balance of the two forces so no need to sinew back or decrown.
Whatever you are, be a good one.

Offline Jim Davis

• Reparrows
    • Reparrows
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2015, 10:42:29 pm »