Author Topic: Back for more help!  (Read 3119 times)

Offline JRMakowski

Back for more help!
« on: September 19, 2015, 03:39:58 pm »
Sorry guys for my constant ?'s I got the bow bending a little more even finally, but what i notice is in the re flexed area it doesn't seem to want to bent much at all just thought Id ask before I go to far with wood removal. Ive tried getting some movement there but doesn't seem to change much.
Id Rather Be Lucky Then Good!

Offline bowandarrow473

Re: Back for more help!
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2015, 03:47:04 pm »
Ive only made a few recurves and the ones that I have made have all had the recurve in them naturally. So im no expert on the subject but I am fairly sure that the recurve areas of the limb will never be totally bending in line with the rest of the bow. If you do tiller them so they bend in the same arc as the limb then you will make that area bend to much.
Whatever you are, be a good one.

Offline E. Jensen

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2015, 03:57:40 pm »
Inner 1/3 is stiff, hinging in the middle, more so apparently on the bottom limb

Offline JRMakowski

« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2015, 04:05:22 pm »
Inner 1/3 is stiff, hinging in the middle, more so apparently on the bottom limb

Thats what i see as well I have it marked and haven't touched it in days but cant seem to eliminate it either I figure might be to late, might have firewood soon

Offline bowandarrow473

« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2015, 04:12:03 pm »
The wood fibres in the hinging part may already be to damaged to recover without reducing draweight significantly. Are you pulling to full draw with the tiller like this?

Offline bradsmith2010

« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2015, 04:25:51 pm »
could we see an unbraced photo,, thanks B

Offline Badger

« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2015, 05:23:28 pm »