Author Topic: Board bow making  (Read 2906 times)

Offline Ryan9273

Board bow making
« on: August 11, 2015, 08:22:05 pm »
Ok, I'm fairly new to bowmaking and about 1 week into it, board bows are about the only way at the moment for me to craft bows. I've made 2 bows so far from red oak, the first bow broke during tillering. The second bow I'm still currently working on and im a lot more confident in this one than the last. Its 30# at 28" draw 68" ntn, handle bow. Backed with 3 layers of the hashed drywall tape and lots of glue. I got home from work today and stuck it on on my tiller stand and drew it slowly to 28" and stepped back to examine and all of a sudden a very faint popping/crack sound emitted for just a split second.  I removed it from the stand and examined carefully. No visual cracks or splintering and it seems fine. Just to see what would happen I drew the bow to my draw length-  28" and even an inch more about 10 times in a row Still seemed fine, and now I'm writing my first post here. What should I do? Continue tillering or roast some hot dogs over it?.

Offline sleek

Re: Board bow making
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2015, 08:25:45 pm »
Cant say without pics.... but, regardless,  the answer is, you should definitely make another bow!
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2015, 08:28:37 pm »
You probably need to brace it and check for slivers lifting and other defects, pics are nie to help but that tape i used a few times when i started, it don't really help
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline bubby

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2015, 08:40:32 pm »
I've built a ton of board bows here's a build a long i did, now in this i used a tablesaw if you don't have one you can still use the demensions http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,35312.0.html