Author Topic: Issue With Bow & I'm new to Bowyering  (Read 3540 times)

Offline TyPierce

Issue With Bow & I'm new to Bowyering
« on: August 06, 2015, 12:59:12 pm »
Hello Everyone,

I recently thought about building a bow. So I have done some research and started out. I decided that my first bow was just going to be cheap so I could learn as I made it.
I am trying a mollegabet design, and I may be wrong for doing so, but I thought ehh... why not it looks cool. I'm using a piece of maple that I got from the local big box store. The wood grain looks really good, and there were no knots that I could see.  The design came out really well, It is 65" long 2.5" wide by 3/4" thick (before getting it to floor tiller). After a lot of cutting scraping and sanding, I got it to a brace height of around 2" with the tillering looking fairly equal (to my untrained eye lol). I was working it to a draw of about 19 inches, on a tillering tree I made, I checked the weight with a tillering stick and a bathroom scale it was about 44lbs @ 19"-20". I only want it to be around 50lbs @ 28" (my draw length) so I realize I have more to take off. Also I backed it with titebond II and drywall fiber glass mesh to be cheap, first bow after all, it does not need to be really cool looking it just needs to teach me.

Now here is my question I'm getting a little bit of string follow, which is not the big deal, I am also getting a couple lines of wrinkles on the upper limb about 3" or so above the fade. I tried to do a bit of research and figured out it is called crystals? I believe that is what I am dealing with. There are a few wrinkles that are very noticeable when it is drawn back to 18", but it is less noticeable when it is at brace height of about 2".