Author Topic: Flat belly turned concave by sinew backing?  (Read 4370 times)

Offline Frodolf

Flat belly turned concave by sinew backing?
« on: July 07, 2015, 06:00:34 pm »
So, I'm working on a recurved pyramid sort of bow. Yesterday I backed it with sinew. I reverse-braced the bow to 7", applied the sinew, and then wrapped and heated the backing to get excess glue out of it (á la Pat M's method).

Now that the sinew has been drying for a day, I discover that the previously perfectly flat belly has become concave. The opposite of crowned, that is. I've never had this happen to me before, but then I've never used deer sinew before, only cow sinew. Deer sinew seems to expand much more when soaked and should therefore, logically, result in more reflex as the sinew pulls the bow more than cow sinew does. But even if that is the case, I can't quite wrap my head around what's going on. Any ideas? Similar experiences? Is it fatal?

BTW, the back of the bow pre-backing was crowned. The stave came from a 6" trunk. The wood is rowan, well seasoned.

Offline wizardgoat

Re: Flat belly turned concave by sinew backing?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 07:21:53 pm »
it sounds like the sinew has pulled reflex, and as it shrunk it also pulled the sides up. I've heard this can happen if the limbs are very wide, or I've also heard it can happen if too much sinew is applied at once, instead of a layer or 2 every week or so. Just a couple ideas, not sure if they are true

Offline Ryan C

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 09:45:02 pm »
I'm with wizard I bet your limbs are too wide and thin.

Offline PatM

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 10:34:27 pm »
You guys are misunderstanding his description.  The belly is concave because the back is temporarily wider due to moisture and an increased poisson effect.

Offline Dakota Kid

• Maker of Things
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2015, 10:46:15 pm »
If that's the case, it should go away as the MC stabilizes?