Author Topic: Tree ID help, please  (Read 1725 times)

Offline Ardent

• Imgur albums of my work
Tree ID help, please
« on: May 03, 2015, 02:51:02 pm »
Please help me ID this tree. I am not very good at it.

Pieces of the branch.

The trunk (I didn't cut down the whole tree, just one branch).

Note the berries.

The tree had grown a large branch that was overhanging our back yard, choking out plants, and hanging low enough to impede the lawnmower. My wife said that branch had to go.

Based on tree ID sites and Google image searches, I'm guessing that it is Sugarberry? I split up the longest, straightest section of the branch into 4 staves, and sealed the ends with polyurethane. Hopefully it's something I can use.

I am just south of Houston, Texas. This tree is growing about 30 feet from a slough (drainage ditch).
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 02:57:55 pm by Ardent »

Offline tipi stuff

• Curtis Carter
Re: Tree ID help, please
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2015, 03:03:31 pm »
You're ID is correct!

Offline tallpine

• East Texas
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2015, 05:12:12 pm »
That sure looks like a Hackberry to me.{edit} Just looked up Sugarberry, another name for Hackberry, good bow wood.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2015, 05:21:40 pm by tallpine »

Offline make-n-break

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2015, 06:36:55 pm »
I apologize in advance if this is rude and I'm not trying to hijack by any means, but this is what hackberry looks like here. Different species?
"When making a bow from board staves you are freeing a thing of dignity from the humiliation of static servitude." -TBB1

Offline Hrothgar

« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2015, 07:37:14 pm »
Ardent, what you have is sugarberry, sometimes called southern hackberry, but they are different species. The tree posted by make-n-break is a true hackberry.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline Ardent

• Imgur albums of my work
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2015, 08:27:31 pm »
Thanks for the replies, everyone.