Author Topic: Osage Takedown - Wisdom Needed  (Read 5714 times)

Offline Lefty8917

Osage Takedown - Wisdom Needed
« on: April 10, 2015, 06:57:40 pm »
This is a 65" osage take down made from 2 billets. I used a 2 part epoxy and fiberglass cloth for the handle. The handle turned out great. It seems to be very strong and by bottom limb fits in like a glove. I have been floor tillering it for a few days now with no issues. Today I went to put pressure on it as if I were stringing the bow and the top limb (which has the handle connected) slipped up and the two pieces pulled appart. Creating an aweful cracking sound and the damage shown in the pictures. This is my first attempt at any form of a takedown bow. Am I missing anything? or did i do someting wrong? Can I still salvage a takedown bow from this or should I just epoxy it together and call it a day?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Osage Takedown - Wisdom Needed
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 07:51:14 pm »
You can probably repair the cracks with good glue and clamps. I think I'd reinforce the FG sleeve at the open end. If that gives in the least it will probably happen again.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Jim Davis

• Reparrows
    • Reparrows
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2015, 07:51:28 pm »
Looks like the handle sleeve flexed, letting the angled end of the limb tilt to where the tip was the only part with strain on it. 
Jim Davis

Kentucky--formerly Maine

Offline paco664

• ok,ok.. i might have done it...
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2015, 07:52:15 pm »
Holy cow man. . Sorry. . I got no fix for you but i feel your pain. ..
I'm too drunk to taste this chicken"~Col.H.Sanders

Offline bubby

« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2015, 07:59:01 pm »
Did you make the sleeve useing madcrows how to
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Lefty8917

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2015, 08:19:49 pm »