Author Topic: Pecan Staves (Pics)  (Read 5465 times)

tradrick

Pecan Staves (Pics)
« on: January 27, 2008, 04:19:27 pm »
I got my hands on these pecan logs I mentioned the other day.I sealed the ends with shelac.They'll get another coat after I finish getting them into staves.It was recommended to build the bows a little wider than usual.So how wide do you guys think I should leave the staves?How wide do you think I should leave the finished bow at the fades?Does this wood not have a heart wood?It all looks the same to me.Since this is said to be like hickory.Do I just take the bark off and that is the bows back?

I also am thinking of roughing one stave out to rough bow demensions and makeing a form to reflex the tips as it cures.Does this sound like a wise thing to do?If I do rough a bow out should'nt I reseal the ends and back of the bow with the shelac?Sorry for all the questions.But I'm still a rookie.I've only worked with wood that had been preped for me.This will be the first from tree to bow I've done.All help and advice would be greatly appreciated.tradrick

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
Re: Pecan Staves (Pics)
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2008, 04:31:26 pm »
Pecan is a member of the Hickory Family and a good Bow Wood...all you need do is strip off the Bark for a finished Back....as for roughing the Staves out ....I always remove the Bark when green....it come off so much nicer then....and after roughing them out....I seal them and clamp them up to dry....seems to work good for me
As a species we're fundamentally insane. Put more than two of us in a room, we pick sides and start dreaming up ways to kill one another.Why do you think we invented politics and religion.
Think HEALTHCARE Is Expensive Now,Wait Till It's FREE
Do Or Do Not,There Is No TRY
2024...We Will Overcome

Offline Pat B

• Administrator